Who could be North Dakota’s next tax commissioner?


MINOT, N.D. — Ryan Rauschenberger has served as North Dakota’s tax commissioner since he was appointed to the position by former Gov. Jack Dalrymple in 2013. Today, after hitting another bump on what has been a long road to sobriety, he announced his resignation from the office.

He’ll be gone effective Jan. 3.

Per chapter 44-02-03 of the North Dakota Century Code, the decision on who will fill the vacancy is left to Gov. Doug Burgum. People appointed to fill vacancies like these serve only until the next general election, though in this case Rauschenberger’s term was up next year anyway.

In years past, the tax commissioner’s post has been a stepping stone for some. Former Sens. Kent ConradByron Dorgan and Heidi Heitkamp all did a stint there before moving on to federal office, though it’s not clear if that dynamic is still meaningful today.

Who will Burgum choose?

Continue reading…