Port: Most of North Dakota’s statewide elected officials sign letter opposing term limits


MINOT, N.D. — On the ballot next month North Dakotans will get to vote on whether to put a term limits amendment into North Dakota’s Constitution, but most of North Dakota’s statewide elected officials have signed a letter opposing it.

The amendment would limit lawmakers to no more than eight years in a legislative chamber, and the governor would be prevented from seeking more than two four-year terms.

The amendment wouldn’t apply to any of the elected officials who signed the letter, which include:

  • Public Service Commissioner Julie Fedorchak
  • Superintendent of Public Instruction Kirsten Baesler
  • Treasurer Thomas Beadle
  • Agriculture Commissioner Doug Goehring
  • Insurance Commissioner Jon Godfread
  • Public Service Commissioner Sheri-Haugen Hoffart
  • Secretary of State Al Jaeger
  • Attorney General Drew Wrigley

Continue reading…