Legislature on path to use inequality to create political equality


MINOT, N.D. — The state Legislature is in session to, among other issues, attend to the necessity of redistricting.

Currently, every legislative district in the state elects a senator and two representatives to identical four-year terms.

The plan developed by an interim redistricting committee, that was debated on the floor of the House today, includes subdivisions for the House members in two legislative districts.

District 9, which encompasses the Turtle Mountain Reservation, and District 4, which includes the Fort Berthold Reservation, would be divided with one of the representatives elected from each district. This would mean that the residents of these two districts, including the voting populations in the reservation communities, could only vote for two members of the Legislature every two years.

The voters from every other district in the state would still vote for three.

Continue reading…