Controversial Bastiat Caucus Refuses to Divulge Which Elected Leaders Are Members


There are four identified on the group’s website — Rep. Dan Ruby (R-Minot), Rep. Tom Kading (R-Fargo), Larsen, and Rep. Ben Koppelman (R-West Fargo) are all named as leaders — and with Becker, that makes five confirmed members.

Who are the other 25? We can make some good guesses based on various lawmakers’ public statements, but there’s nothing official available.

I called Ruby, who is currently the caucus chair, and his response when I asked if he’d divulge the group’s members was, “We don’t have to.”

“It’s not a government committee,” he told me.

“If people want to be members but not necessarily listed, that’s up to them,” he added.

Continue reading…